Sharing the Joy!

As I work day to day in the garden, I find my childlike observance and curiosity constantly rekindled. The intricate shapes and vibrant colors never cease to amaze me while I pick and pull and play. At times I will just sit in the middle, surrounded by the fertile foliage and uncontrollably smile. I touch and smell and look at everything, feeling overjoyed by such beauty in life. And now I feel overjoyed that this experience was shared with a group of kids who came for a tour of the garden!

When Beth Krumholtz, curator of education and community plot holder, presented me with this opportunity I couldn’t wait, but in reality the event snuck up on me! Alyssa and I talked about it a few times and  had a relative script to follow but man I was nervous! I would think that talking in front of a bunch of kids would be far from intimidating but my feelings were otherwise. And so the morning came and I meandered my way to the garden, awaiting the arrival of the Art and Garden summer camp tour and Alyssa, their counselor. We began the tour with warm welcome and started to present the points from the script…introducing different aspects of the garden, talking about the science and benefits of our practices, and how things grow . BUT! then we started smelling the leaves in the cool lookin’ herb spiral…the tour took on a whole new form. It became a jungle exploration with awe inspiring sights at every turn. I couldn’t contain my happiness for having the ability to share my excitement for the lovely colors, interesting shapes, weird veggies, extreme growth and much more. But it wasn’t only me that felt this joy. The children were amazed by the garden. We naturally split into separate groups between Alyssa and I, giving everyone an intimate experience with the tour. They jumped for joy as I did upon seeing different aspects of the garden’s beauty, but what really impressed me was that they asked me questions and shared their beautiful personal experiences with gardens and food. It was incredible how much these children knew and how excited they were to share this knowledge. Upon talking to Beth Krumholtz after the camp was over, I was told the garden tour and a healthy cooking day were their favorite activities! Its great to see that even in a world of technology and general disconnection from our food supply that there is passion, knowledge, and interest in gardens and veggies among younger generations. The garden is a project that inherently creates and shares beauty, but it was by far the best, most important, and joyful experience to share that beauty with the children who will become the future of our world. Now here’s some pictures to show you that kinda beauty I’m talkin’ about!

Eggplant!

Eggplant!

Cucumber Flower and Spiral!

Cucumber Flower and Spiral!

Lil' tom

Lil’ tom

Tomato potentials!

Tomato potentials!

The ever lovely swiss chard

The ever lovely swiss chard

HUGE raspberry bush

HUGE raspberry bush

Just hangin' out

Just hangin’ out

Climbin spiral

Climbin spiral

Blackberries are gettin there!

Blackberries are gettin there!

Climb away

Climb away

Echinacea with Fibonacci Spiral

Echinacea with Fibonacci Spiral

Echinacea

Echinacea

Vibrant!!

Vibrant!!

Super cool kohlrabi

Super cool kohlrabi

Garden 7-9 030 20140530-204116-74476232.jpg 20140529-190451-68691708.jpg 20140529-190448-68688698.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments? Questions?

