The Zen Life

After 3 years, it's blooming beautifully.

After 3 years, it’s blooming beautifully.

Now I know what you’re thinking, I might give a whole sh-peal about Buddhism, but contrary to the title, it’s more about gardening than anything. As my first post, I’ll tell you this journey I was on today called, Life. As I awoke sluggishly this morning, 6AM sharp (the earliest I have EVER woken up in the summer), to tend to the garden, I was going through a whirlwind of emotions because the realization of my internship is coming to a close hit me.  

When I parked my car on campus and slowly walked to the garden, I was and still in utter awe every time I see and walk through the garden. It’s really amazing to think how far this garden has come. Now this part might seem philosophical, but the best part of gardening for me, is the miracle and science of a plant. It starts out as a seed and through nature’s endeavors, it fights to survive and bloom into a magnificent plant. Just like people. Starting this internship, I was a seedling, ready to grow and learn and through my short duration, I have learned so much and met some amazing people and I think I’m ready to bloom and be in season once I leave to spread my wisdom onto others. 

You’re probably why this title is called the ‘The Zen Life’, and here’s why. I hate waking up early in the morning, especially during the summer, but when I woke up and started watering the plants, I had a sense of peace and tranquility.  If we stop what we’re doing for 15 minutes, or even 5 minutes, and just go outside and listen. Don’t talk. Listen. Like realllly listen to your surroundings and embrace it, you’ll probably notice things you never heard. It’s called Life. I think we get so worked up with our every day lives it’s easy to forget the things around us and how beautiful life is.

Nature always finds a way.

Nature always finds a way.

As I was finishing up watering the garden, I have noticed things I have never noticed before. I usually hate insects because all they do is attack me but this morning, it was like we both called a cease fire. Both human and insects were minding our own business and tending to the garden. What amazes me is this tomato plant that was dying. Do you know that expression ‘Nature always find a way?’. Well I truly believe that expression after seeing the endeavors that this tomato plant has went through. No matter what, it still manages to grow and it really puts a smile on my face because it shows that no matter what life throws at you, you can make it.

After putting everything away, I gave the garden one last look. I’m really glad to be a part of something amazing on campus. I hope everyone can share the same love for a sustainable and eco friendly as we have. 

If you haven’t already be sure to like Albright ECO’s Facebook here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments? Questions?

