Meet this Season’s Interns: Emily Phillips

Emily 2

Hi everyone! My name is Emily Phillips and I will be working as an intern until August 17th. Even as a little girl, I was surrounded by nature. Every second I could spare, I played outside until I was forced to come indoors by my parents. I discovered all different kinds of nature. Whether it was trees, flowers, or plants, they made me very curious. Once I grew a bit older, I began to garden with my dad. I loved watching our hard work grow into something so great. Yet, I learned in high school that normal agriculture is not the best for its environment. I never heard of a sustainable garden until I came to Albright in the summer before my first semester. When I was shown the garden that summer though, I knew I wanted to be a part of it. My goal is to add something to this garden that can benefit it even more while also being able to take the information that I learn and relate it back to my community to educate them.

As you can tell, I am very concerned about the environment and the living things that it sustains. My major at Albright is Environmental Science with a focus in Animal Behaviors studies. Now, my journey at Albright started a little differently. As a freshmen here, I was an Environmental Science major with a Pre-Veterinary studies tract. I knew I wanted to work with animals but as my freshmen year slowly came to a close, I realized something important concerning my future; I did not want to spend eight more years of my life at another university, especially when I wasn’t in love with the idea of cutting animals open and watching them die. Now, the upside to this profession is that one gets to help a lot of animals in their lifetime. Yet, there was something missing. As I evaluated what I wanted to do in life, it suddenly came to me. I realized how much I admired my high school environmental science teacher and how he made me fall in love with specifically the ecology section of the environmental science class. Now, who really educated me more in this field was my advisor, Dr. David Osgood. With his knowledge, I learned that I wanted to be a research ecologist. I want to become either a population or community ecologist so I can study the behaviors of animals. My goal one day is to be able to contribute helpful research back to people so they can learn something from my work.

Even though science is a big part of my life, I still have hobbies as well. A part from being involved with the campus’ environmental outreach club (E.C.O), I also have a spot on Albright’s Track and Field team. Running has been important in my life since I was seven. The first time I set foot on a track, I was on cloud nine. I’ve done everything from running mild distances to jumping to even throwing, but I’ve found my place in the short distances. People doubted me as a sprinter because of the size I am but my times always seemed to crush their doubts. Over the years, running isn’t just a sport or pastime to me anymore. It’s come to be something that is a stress reliever, which at this point in my life is more fun than hard work. To me, running is my favorite way to express myself without using any words. When I’m running, I don’t have to explain my logic or myself. On the track, I can only keep improving. Now, that’s enough about me. I’ll leave you all with one of my favorite quotes.

“Our environment, the world in which we live and work, is a mirror of our attitudes

and expectations.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments? Questions?

