Appreciating Nature in the Garden

Hi everyone! My name is Vince and I’m also a 2016 intern at Albright’s community garden. I just began my time working in the garden this year and am already quite surprised at the amount of growth that has taken place. The garden is a lively and wonderful place to spend time. The community garden is also very productive and healthy. As I look around at the variety of plants, I constantly find myself being closer to nature.

Cultivating food is one of the oldest activities people have done throughout history. It is a necessity of course, but there seems to be more to it than that. Crops depend on a number of factors to be able to grow and eventually produce edible food. These factors include healthy soil, adequate moisture, and of course a proper amount of sunshine. I’m amazed when I recognize all the connected processes involved when growing crops. Being a passionate environmentalist and majoring in environmental studies, I feel that working in the garden helps me to stay active with my views on our environment and my own well-being.

Working in the garden is also peaceful. Being that it is an age-old activity, I feel that gardening is a simple way to better connect with nature. Being outside on a sunny and warm day while getting a little dirty is not something to complain about. One can forget about life frustrations and feel in the present moment.

 

-Vince

 

Recipe of the week:

Refreshing Cucumber Salad

Ingredients for 4 servings:

2 small cucumbers, thinly sliced

1 half small red onion, thinly sliced

1 large tomato, halved and sliced

3 tablespoons mayonnaise

1 tablespoon white vinegar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

 

In a medium bowl, toss together the cucumbers, red onion and tomato. Gently stir in the mayonnaise, vinegar, salt and pepper until coated. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments? Questions?

